Star Vista, Singapore

I think I mentioned in an earlier post that I met my friend for dinner one evening at the Star Vista. Or maybe my memory is playing tricks on me and I am a little lazy to check. Anyway, Star Vista is a considerably new mall, located conveniently within a few minutes’ walk from Buona Vista MRT station, which is now very well-connected to many places after the Circle Line came to this part of the island. Now it takes me a much shorter time to get from home to places like Holland Village where I have the option of the Circle Line.

Although the Star Vista is relatively new, it probably is already heard-of by many because when I went there, most of the eateries or restaurants were quite full, with some even having queues outside, e.g. the Japanese eateries. I went straight to the second level where the dining establishments were located, so I didn’t get to check out the shops on the lower levels, but it seemed like the mall consists more dining choices as compared to shopping options. I liked how there is a lot of open space, just like how one of my new friend mentioned on her blog, and so the whole mall appeared to be really uncluttered and spacious. The Star Auditorium that occupies the top of the building (I assume, since I saw a pair of escalators leading to it) will be where church service will be held in future, though I am still considering if I should stick to the spill-over venues that I am going to currently.

Because we didn’t want to queue, we decided to have dinner at Morganfield’s, a restaurant that apparently serves good barbeque pork ribs. I didn’t know until I was reading about it on the website with the mall directory. Anyway, it struck me more as a place like Brotzeit (there’s one there too), Paulaners, you get the idea. My friend and I ordered a sausage platter and a portion of fries to share, and maybe we weren’t too hungry but we didn’t finish all the food. The sausages were yummy if not a little oily, and they were rather huge. I liked the cheese sausage, one of the shorter ones pictured here, and the one in the most fore of the photo, is something that had a spicy taste to it. It was nice but I think my friend didn’t like it as much.

20121101-091506.jpg

Morganfield’s serves alcohol too, with a variety of beer, cocktails and the likes but we ordered lemonade. The weird thing was, we thought we would order a pitcher, since both of us wanted lemonade and it would probably be more economical to order a pitcher for 2 rather than 2 separate glasses, but we were told that the item is no longer available, or it wasn’t available that night or something. Isn’t it odd? Maybe they ran out of pitchers, or maybe they realised the loophole that a pitcher makes more money-sense for the patrons. Service was a little tardy, probably because they were rather crowded indoors and even the alfresco part was full. We were rather lucky to get a table shortly and the service staff were generally polite, but they brought us the food with a plate without any cutlery, and in the end we had to ask for them. I am ok with eating fries with my hands, but sausages…?

It wasn’t too warm that evening so it was alright sitting outside, and besides being outside probably meant too that we didn’t have to raise our voices too much, as compared to if we were sitting indoors and have to battle with the rest of the boisterious crowd.

After dinner, we decided to head somewhere else for coffee. Those who only like localised coffee would be glad to know there is a Yakun too, but my friend suggested Jamaica Blue, which I also read about from bookjunkie’s blog! It’s actually a coffee chain from Australia, and the coffee wasn’t too bad from my hazy memory. I was really tempted by the small selection of confectionery items they had but since was just over… 

It is sort of a self-service cafe, where you order from the cashier but you get your drinks served to you. Service was generally good and courteous from a crew of young people who I think should be students, and it was relatively nice and cosy indoors with a low noise level. It was just a pity that the coffee I ordered wasn’t adorned with latte art. Maybe I have been pampered by all these new cafes around with their fancy latte art, but this was what my drink looked like.

20121101-091521.jpg

Of course it won’t stop me from visiting them again but I thought it might make a nice touch, haha. And I’m pretty sure this won’t be the last time I visit Star Vista. Church service aside, there are still plenty of other F&B options that I can go check out in future!

Leave a comment